Maiastra Logo
< Back

Mozart and Dvorak

The String Quintet No. 5 in D major, K. 593 was written by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in 1790. In four movements, a delightful, lively opening theme gives no hint of the astonishing variations in tempo that Mozart will employ before the Allegro finale. Dvorak’s String Quintet in E♭ major, Op. 97 was composed by during the summer he spent in Spillville, Iowa in 1893. It is a "Viola Quintet" in that it is scored for a string quartet with an extra viola. It was completed in just over a month, immediately after he wrote his American String Quartet, and consists of four movements. 


Mozart String Quintet No. 5 in D major, K. 593

Dvorak String Quintet in Eb major, Op. 97

Course Director

Matthijs Broersma


Marike Kruup - violin

violin - Charlie Westhoff

Alex McFarlane - viola

Oscar Holch - viola

Free admission



May 2019

7:30 pm

The Musical Museum

399 High Street, Brentford, TW8 0DU

Location Map



May 2019

7:30 pm

St. Andrew's Church

Church Street, Cobham KT11 3EJ

Location Map