homeabout usconcertsvenuesgallerycontactrecordings
< Back

String Sextets by Brahms and Dvořák

Johannes Brahms' String Sextet No. 2 in G major, Opus 36 was composed during the years of 1864–1865 (although it drew on material from earlier times) - it was first performed in Boston, Massachusetts on October 11, 1866. Antonín Dvorák's “String Sextet in A major” was composed in 1878 during his so-called Slavic period, when the composer was specifically enriching his music with folk elements. It was Dvořák's first work to be premiered outside Bohemia.


Brahms String Sextet in G major, Op. 36

Dvořák String Sextet in A major, Op. 48

Course Director:

David Waterman


Roberto Ruisi - violin

Amarins Wierdsma - violin

Connie Pharaoh - viola

Henrietta Hill - viola

Ben Tarlton - cello

David Waterman - cello

Free admission with a retiring collection



June 2021

7:30 pm

The Musical Museum

399 High Street, Brentford, TW8 0DU

Location Map



June 2021

7:30 pm

St. Andrew's Church

Church Street, Cobham KT11 3EJ

Location Map



June 2021

7:30 pm

Dorking Halls

Reigate Road, Dorking, Surrey RH4 1SG

Location Map